• Welcome to Cheiron Songwriters and Max Martin fan-forum and music discussion board www.swedishsongs.de - All about Swedish songwriters and music.

News:

Welcome to the Cheiron Songwriters Forums |
powered by www.maxmartinfansite.com

Here is the place to talk about all the members and friends of the legendary Cheiron Studios: Max Martin, Denniz PoP,  Rami Yacoub, Jörgen Elofsson, Andreas Carlsson, Per Magnusson, David Kreuger, Kristian Lundin, Herbie Crichlow, Alexandra Talomaa, Alexander Kronlund, John Amatiello, Jake Schulze and all the new and old songs by the Cheiron crew and friends (Dr Luke, Shellback, Savan Kotecha...) and (your) great pop music in general.

Main Menu

How do you write a melody based on a beat?

Started by fantasyvn, July 17, 2015, 12:09:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fantasyvn

Dear all, I'm a newbie here. I joined as I love Max Martin's songs as well as other songs by Swedish songwriters.

I also write songs based on 'traditional' way: playing piano and improvising the melody. At the moment, I am interested in writing the melody (topline) based a beat.

I have tried to listen to some beats that I like on the web. As you know, you can listen to the full versions, which are voice tagged, on many sites. I try to imagine and improvise the melody, but so far I fail.

May I ask for your experience in writing the topline this way? Do you just listen to the beat and hum a melody? Do you need a keyboard beside you?

Thank you

AlexanderLaBrea