The Songwriters > Max Martin and friends

Death of the melody?

(1/3) > >>

Helluvafella:
Hello fellow pop music fans :)

I’ve been an avid reader in this forum for quite some time now and a Max fan for over 15 years.
I know every Max song in and out since I’m a songwriter and musician myself.

I was always a huge fan of mainstream pop music and it’s fast paced trends, but somehow for the last 2 or 3 years I really don’t know how to feel about mainstream music anymore. Yesterday I listened to the new Doja Cat single “You Right” written and produced by Dr. Luke and I literally was scratching my head in disbelief. To me, pop music was always about great melodies, these new pop songs somehow try to imitate current mainstream hip hop and abandon great melody writing in exchange for 3 notes that are repeated to oblivion in a super annoying way. Just listen to the aforementioned track. The chorus melody sounds like garbage to my ears! I know I know, hip hop is the number one genre at the moment (at least in the US) but ditching interesting melodies in order to appeal to 13 year old kids that listen to mumble rap and trap all day is not the way to go if you ask me. Especially not for pop music. Has anyone experienced the same thing?

I wonder what Max is thinking about this new trend! Max, to me, is the king of melodies, and his melodies are so well crafted that I would give anything to hear his opinion on this. At least to my ears, it sounds like we’re approaching an era of “death of the melody” and it’s super super frustrating!!

Helluvafella:
Thank you for your comment :)